How Many Pets (Dogs/Cats) Can You Own in Connecticut?

2 cats and 2 dogs

It goes without saying that Connecticut is a global leader in investment and asset management. However, is the Constitution State also a great place for pet owners? Fascinatingly, yes! In fact, a recent survey ranked Connecticut among the top ten dog-friendly states in the U.S. As such, does Connecticut have a statewide law that dictates the number of pets residents can own? The short answer is Yes, it does. Under state law, you can legally own up to 6 dogs or cats. State law also requires that you obtain a license for your dog in the municipality where you live.

Nonetheless, each municipality in the Nutmeg State has its own ordinance regarding pet ownership. That means your city or town bylaws can override the state law. As a result, it is necessary to consult your local animal control office or town clerk before owning 6 or more pets. Meanwhile, I have compiled a list of a few Connecticut municipalities that have their own pet-limit laws.

East Hartford

The town of East Hartford restricts the number of dogs and cats per household to 5. That means you may own 5 cats or 5 dogs, or any combination of both not exceeding 5. If you wish to keep more than the allowable number, you may obtain a license from the Director of Health. However, you must see to it that your animals do not constitute a nuisance, otherwise, your license may be revoked, as stated in the town's Code of Ordinances.


In Bristol, a suburban city located in Hartford County, CT, residents can own no more than four pets (dogs and cats), as per the city's website. To keep more than 4 dogs or cats in a residential area, you need a minimum of two acres of land.


In Simsbury, CT, up to six domestic pets are allowed per household. Dogs, cats, and similar domestic animals can be kept in any combination. If you are a property owner, you can own up to 12 ducks, geese, or hens. If your property is large enough, (3 acres), you can own 2 horses, ponies, sheep, or similar animals, according to the city's website.


In the town of Groton, the maximum number of dogs you can own is 6. A Kennel License is required to own more than that. There is no limit to the number of cats you can own in Groton. All pet dogs over 6 months of age are required to be vaccinated and licensed by the Town Clerk. You have a month to license your dog after purchasing it or after moving with it to Groton. The annual license fee for neutered or spayed dogs is $8 and $19 for un-neutered or un-spayed dogs.


The town of Tolland allows up to six dogs to be kept in residential zones. It does not regulate the number of cats that can be kept. If you wish to own more than six dogs in Tolland, CT, you need a parcel of land that is at least five acres and located in the Residential Design District Zone. In addition, you must apply for and obtain a permit from the Planning and Zoning Regulations.

Does Connecticut Have Breed Specific Legislation

Breed-specific legislation (BSL) are laws that ban or restrict dog breeds deemed inherently dangerous. BSL started gaining popularity in the US in the 1980s, thanks to media attention surrounding pit bull attacks. Over the years, many cities across the country have banned dog breeds that tend to attack people.

However, former CT Gov. Dannel Malloy, in 2013, signed a bill that banned towns and cities in Connecticut from passing breed-specific laws. Currently, only 17 states, including CT, prohibit their municipalities from passing BSL. 

However, Connecticut has a dangerous or vicious dog law. A dog is deemed vicious in CT if it attacks someone unprovoked. If you intentionally or recklessly permit your dog to roam and the dog physically injures someone unprovoked, you could be fined and imprisoned.
Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form